Yoga for Obesity

Surya Namaskara: Salutations to the Sun

Surya Namaskara is comprised of 12 positions, each of which corresponds to one of the 12 signs of the zodiac. One complete round of surya namaskara consists of these 12 positions performed in succession twice. Associated with each of the 12 positions is a mantra, which for optimum benefits, should be repeated verbally or mentally.

The practice of surya namaskara should be immediately discontinued if a fever develops due to excess toxins in the body.

These toxins should be eliminated over a period of time by practicing other asanas.

When the toxins have been removed, surya namaskara can again be commenced.

The practitioner should not do more rounds than he can comfortably perform without excessive physical fatigue

Halasana :

The name comes from Sanskrit word hala which means a plow and asana which means ‘Posture’ or ‘seat’.

Lie flat on the back with the arms straight and beside the body, palms facing downward.

Keeping the legs straight, slowly raise them to the vertical position above the body.

Only use the stomach muscles to raise the legs.

Do not use the arms.

Simultaneously bend the trunk upward, hips first.

Slowly lower the legs over the head and touch the floor with the toes of both feet.

Keep the legs straight, bend the arms and place the hands on the back, touching the toes.

Relax the body.

Remain in the final pose for a comfortable period of time then return to the starting position.

Ardha Matsyendrasana :

The asana is named after the great yogi Matsyendranath. The name comes from the Sanskrit words ardha meaning “half”, matsya meaning “fish”, eendra meaning “king”, and asana meaning “posture” or “seat”

Sit with the legs straight in front of the body.

Place the right foot flat on the floor outside the left knee.

Bend the left leg to the right and place the left heel against the right buttock.

Place the left arm around outside the right leg and with the left hand; hold the right foot or ankle.

The right knee should be as near as possible to the left armpit.

Turn the body to the right, placing the right arm behind the back.

Twist the back and then the neck as far as possible without strain.

Remain in the final pose for a short time and then slowly return to the starting position.

Change the legs and repeat to the other side.

People with very stiff bodies who cannot do ardha matsyendrasana should place the leg that is folded under the buttocks straight in front of the body.

The technique thereafter is the same as the basic form.

As soon as the body becomes suppler they should discontinue this simple variation and attempt to do the full asana.

Baddha Padmasana :

It is also known as the ‘locked lotus pose’. Badha means locked, Padma means lotus and asana means pose or seat.

Sit in the padmasana.

Place the right hand behind the back and grasp the right big toe.

Place the left hand behind the back and try to hold the left big toe.

It is easier to hold both big toes by breathing out and leaning forward.

Bend forward and try to touch the forehead to the floor.

Remain in the pose as long as comfortable.

Breathe deep and slow in the final pose.

Dhanurasana :

‘Dhanura’ means a bow and ‘asana’ means posture or seat.

Lie flat on the stomach and inhale fully.

Bend the knees and hold the ankles with the hands.

Tense the leg muscles and arch the back.

Simultaneously raise the head, chest and thighs as high as possible.

Keep the arms straight.

Hold for as long as is comfortable.

Practice up to 5 times.